Love is Love

I first want to apologize for having been absent for the past month.  I have been working incredibly hard on Sphynx and other projects (#senioryear).  In light of recent political events, I had fallen into a bit of a rut.  I was working on this origin story for Sphynx, but it didn’t feel like it meant anything.  It got to the point that I found myself avoiding Sphynx and comics all together because I felt so uninspired.

I then pick up two books that changed everything. For Christmas, I received a book called Superman Versus the Ku Klux Klan.  I haven’t finished it yet, so I will detail it later in another post.  The other book was Love is Love, published by IDW.

Love is Love is an anthology graphic novel dedicated to the victims and survivors of the shooting at Pulse in Orlando.  It contains over a hundred mini stories that love in all forms, mourns the victims of Pulse, and supports the survivors.  Each story is only one or two pages, and every writer, artist, and editor that contributed work donated their time.  It was co-published by DC Comics, giving the creators freedom to use DC characters, some of whom are LGBT, like Batwoman, while most of the stories feature unknown characters or people from Pulse.

This anthology is so inspiring and beautifully crafted.  Reading it made me realize that I needed to do more with Sphynx.  I wasn’t doing her justice with the story I had written.  I need to allow her to fight for what really matters and fight against real evils that are actually happening right here in the US.  Inspired by Love is Love, Sphynx and her friends are going to be starring in mini stories starting this weekend.

Feel free to leave a comment or email me if you have a cause that you want to see Sphynx be a part of!

One thought on “Love is Love

  1. Just letting you know that I’m loving the direction you’re going with Sphynx. While Sphynx is fighting issues in your graphics, readers will be able to relate it back to their lives. Love you and your work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

