My Senses Were Heightened…

A couple weeks ago I finished my next large painting from the series I’m doing for my painting class.   This piece takes place directly before the first piece that I did of Sphynx on her first night as a superhero.

Sphynx was not born with any super powers.  When she was in her early twenties, she she discovered an ancient Egyptian amulet in a box in her attic.  The moment she touched the amulet, her life changed.  Anytime she is touching the amulet, she develops cat-like abilities, thanks to Bastet, the Egyptian goddess of cats.

This piece shows her first time experiencing the powers of the amulet: heightened sense of smell, sight, and hearing, in addition to cat eyes, claws, and cat-like reflexes.

20161107_163325-copy

I will be finishing my final piece for the semester in about two weeks.

Leave a Reply

