Old Interests, New Goals

When I was young, I watched superhero shows. I grew up watching the ‘70s show Super Friends and the DCAU’s Justice League/Justice League Unlimited. I used watch Lynda Carter as Wonder Woman. I had a Wonder Woman doll in the original 1941 design that had come with a book on the history of the character.


When I was in high school years later, those interests started to come back. I don’t remember exactly when or why, but I liked Batman. I started collecting Batman apparel everywhere I went, and it was nearly all I would get for Christmas. I’ve spent hours researching the Caped Crusader and I’ve seen The Dark Knight trilogy about twenty times. Some of my friends even call me Batgirl. My love for Batman has quickly become a full-blown obsession.

Over the years, I’ve really studied him and could list off a thousand reasons why I believe he is the best superhero/comic book character. I believe that he is easily one of the most complex fictional characters ever created, but that is a post for another time. (For now, I direct you to an excellent book called Batman and Philosophy).

4eaa6c13a05bcIn all these years, it wasn’t until Christmas this past year that I really picked up a comic book. My dad gave me Batman: Year One, by Frank Miller and David Mazzucchelli, and The Killing Joke, by Alan Moore and Brian Bolland.   These are two of the most iconic graphic novels featuring the Dark Knight. A few months later, I wandered in the graphic novel section at Barnes & Nobel with my grandmother. I picked up the first volume of Batgirl of Burnside. You can now blame my grandmother if I spend too long telling you about my comics, because she bought it for me that day as a birthday gift.

I quickly read the entire thing that evening, did some research and bought up the rest of the New 52 Batgirl series. (I know the New 52 has a bad rep, but I swear it did some great things for Barbara). Batgirl quickly became a VERY close second to Batman for me. I find her to be incredibly relatable to my age, as well as the struggles of everyday life.

During my internship in Rye this past summer, I discovered a great comic book store two minutes away from my office called, “Aw Yeah Comics”. The owners of the store also publish their own comics under the same name. Ultimately, it seemed to be perfect timing because DC had just released the first titles in their relaunch Rebirth. I ended up at the comic book store nearly every week and I kept adding more and more titles to my subscription list. I befriended Marc, one of the co-founders of the company and the manager at the store.

You might now be wondering what the title of this blog, Power of Sphynx, has do with comic books. Over this past summer, primarily as I was reading Batgirl, I became inspired. I’m an art major so it only made sense that I should create my own character and work towards becoming a comic book artist.

Some of you have met her, but I would formally like to introduce to the world, SPHYNX. I plan on spending my senior year developing her story, character, and, hopefully, a comic book or graphic novel. If you would like to stay up to date with Sphynx’s development, my comic book education, and more, please subscribe. Sphynx and I are excited to share our journey together with you! Enjoy!

2016-08-30-12-52-34-1

Leave a Reply

